Frankly Frank · Monthly Reviews

June 2016

It’s a few minutes after 12 on the 7th of July. I’m typing a June review in July. I’m honestly getting worse at this every day to be quite honest, but I console myself with the fact that I’m not giving up. I really want to look back at these entries some day and laugh, or whatever emotion comes to mind. Happy New Month guys! It’s three months to the end of service year and so I’m slightly happy. Maybe when next I write, I’ll do a little catch up on how that’s fairing (you can check the previous entry here)

While I’m happy that I’m finally leaving this town soon, I’m also sad because I’ve gotten used to the life of comfort here. I really don’t care about how long I stream stuff because there’s wi-fi and I don’t iron my clothes for the week because I know I meet power the next morning. Imagine me going to Lagos for the weekend and having to buy a power bank. Just a weekend.

Anyway, let’s move to gist with what happened this month.

 

Music

TV Shows and Movies (1)
I think I’ve been listening to the regular shit I listen to. My phone is kinda bad so I cannot access my full musical library. On my iPhone, I have just Beyoncé’s album and I listen to that on a regular. I watch the Lemonade visual album too and soak in the awesome poetry. The one at the beginning of Sorry gets to me all the time. I’ve been listening to Sia, Meghan Trainor and basically YouTube’s selection of pop lol. I think that works for me. I also found love in playing Catholic hymns on YouTube. Not to forget the amazing Johnny Drille. Totally love his song called My Beautiful Love. If it’s anything I made a list of musicians who are the new school you should listen to here.

 

 

Movies and TV Shows

TV Shows and Movies

 
So Game of Thrones came to an end last month and I still haven’t gotten to that point where I feel bad and wait for the next season. I actually want to start the season all over again but I feel there’s a lot more to watch. I think Jon and Tyrion were my favourite people to watch this season. I went through a lot with the girl who had no name, a lot that meant pausing the show at some point and praying that she doesn’t die. And Ramin Djawadi did a great job with the music. It has been on my YouTube playlist of last seen.

Also, I did watch a lot of movies this month, more than I’d normally watch. I saw the following
1. The Huntsman: Was fun to watch, thoroughly enjoyed the songs ‘Freeze You Out’ by Sia and ‘Colours’ by Halsey.

2. London Has Fallen: Very predictable, kept on asking if something like this hadn’t been done already.

3. Zootopia: Maybe I need to re-watch to feel what people felt, but it was just there.

4. Inside Out: Enjoyed this one. I have it stored somewhere on my laptop to watch another day. The whole people in control of your head was good for me.

5. Minions 2: First time watching a Minions movie. Quite hilarious

I’m still watching Wayward Pines and Devious Maids, House of Cards and Billions too. I started HBO’s new show called The Night is and it’s good. Also, I cannot wait for Sense8. Cannot

Books

TV Shows and Movies (4)

I’ve been so busy so honestly, no books. I haven’t finished any but sleep has been winning my battle with Helen Oyeyemi’s ‘Mr Fox’

 

 

Places

TV Shows and Movies (2)
Nothing happens in Ondo, sure we’ve established that fact. I was in Lagos for a weekend in June however. Stayed home and drowned in home-made good food and went out to meet people for the Socialiga thing. Had good small chops and someone gifted me a cake (from Cake Mayor). See, the cake was actually tasty tbh. If you have to get a cake in Lagos, just search Cake Mayor on Instagram and Twitter for me and call.

 
I’ve been real busy this month and I hope it’ll change in July, it hasn’t as at now but it’s too early!

 

Until later,

Frank.

Leave a Reply

