Music and TV · Reviews

Movie Review: Confusion Na Wa

Hello, guys! So for the next couple of months, I’ll be watching a lot of Nigerian TV shows and movies, basically, everything I can lay my hands on Iroko TV and I’ll be sharing what I thought of the movies. Understandably, these movies are so old – some of them from 2013 but you can always buy VCDs or go to Iroko or Ibaka TV to watch.

 

Anyway, first on the list is Confusion Na Wa

1

 

 

Plot Summary

Set in a Nigerian city Confusion Na Wa is a dark comedy about a group of strangers whose fates become intertwined over the course of 24 hours. At the heart of everything is a phone found by two opportunist wasters Charles and Chichi who, having read through its contents, decide to blackmail the owner Emeka. Little do they realize that their misdemeanors have set in motion a chain of events that will lead to their own downfall. Confusion Na Wa was the winner of the ‘Best Picture’ category at the 2013 African Movie Academy Awards.

 

Cast

  • Ramsey Noah as Emeka Nwosu
  • OC Ukeje as Charles
  • Ali Nuhu as Bello
  • Tunde Aladese as Isabella
  • Gold Ikponmwosa as Chichi
  • Tony Goodman as Babajide
  • Nathaniel Deme as Kola
  • Yanchat Sankey as Doyin
  • Lisa Pam Tok as Fola
  • Toyin Alabi as Adekunle

What I Thought

The name caught my attention when I checked the “award winning section” of the website. I was also won over by the narration. I thought the narrator at first was really good at what he did.As the plot summary said, it’s a movie that connects a group of strangers. Two friends steal the phone of a man who turns out to be cheating on her husband. Now the said woman he’s cheating with is cheating on her husband too. So they try to blackmail the cheating husband and then it ends up bad for them. In the course of this, there’s also interaction with various people in the movie.

2

 

The movie highlighted one thing for me: the subject of masculinity. In the movie, a man thinks his son is gay because he missed football to help out in the kitchen and also some other factors he has concocted in his head. Now, to change this, he speaks to a weed seller who probably has a brothel of “nurses” to cure his son of being gay. Everybody has a story, a different way they behave. We aren’t the same, we have never been and we will never be. So we should create room for people to act the way they want to act. I should stop here.

 

1

 

One thing I liked also was the music. I felt there were times when they didn’t blend with the mood though but I’m a big fan of almost all the songs they played. The setting looked quite real for me too. There was this simplicity to it and I give them kudos for that. I wouldn’t forget the conspiracy theory that one of the friends had about the Lion King.

confusion-na-wa

It was absolutely hilarious to listen to, as do many parts of the movie.

 

My only problem with the movie was with the acting. I felt they could have done a lot better with the casting. The scenes with the not so popular actors really felt like a boredom fest. It was almost like we were watching a good movie, and then something from nowhere just came and hit us.

But in all, it’s a good movie.

 

Rating

7/10

 

 

Leave a Reply

