Frankly Frank · Music and TV

3 Things I Picked From How To Be Single

Yesterday, it hit me that the only 2016 movie I’ve seen was Captain America: Civil War and I saw it simply because I wanted to see what the Lagos scene looked like and then slightly for Emily Van Camp and Chadwick Boseman in the movie. (I watch Superhero movies, but I’m not the biggest fan.) Anyway, I attempted to look out for more 2016 movies on the internet and that was how I found ‘How To Be Single’.

Now, I remember some people on the timeline being excited about the book being made into a movie. Didn’t read the book before now, so I have no strain of judgment on whether the movie followed the book like I did when I saw Half of a Yellow Sun here. Anyway, I won’t be reviewing the movie. I didn’t think it was all that but I’ll be sharing a few things I picked up from the movie (because I feel there are some gems in it)

1. You won’t die if you’re single

1

In the words of Alice, “the thing about being single is, you should cherish it”. After Alice had a few experiences, she got to understand that relationships aren’t the only way to be happy and embrace the single life with bold hands. As easy as it does sound, it’s achievable. If it’s anything, I think the rush to jump into a relationship may end up with you trying to salvage what wasn’t there before and well, that has never helped anyone.

2. You won’t die if you take out time to find someone

Take your time

This is basically saying know what you’re looking for but don’t go overboard with it. Lucy in the movie had a list of a man she wanted. In a Nigerian setting, let’s say – rich, tall, light-skinned/dark- skinned, bearded, whatever tickles your fancy and well, she took a century to find him. And for some weird reason, she never stopped until she had a man that had all these things she wanted. Sometimes, we get so caught up thinking about relationships that we would accept anyone who came our way. Now this is a tad confusing because there’s room for likeability too (not sure that’s a word). You may decide to bend your rules or give a waiver as it pleases. But you won’t die if you take out time.

3. Shoot your shot

shoot

In the movie, there’s a character who shoots his shot at an older woman and well, he had to keep trying to meet his target. This one is more of a motivation thing – always be motivated to shoot it. Don’t waste any time. If you find it, reach for the bow and arrow and shoot it.

 

Anyway, that’s my two cents! If you’ve read the book or watched the movie, I’m interested in knowing what you think. And I’m sticking to these tips for today. Who knows tomorrow I may go back to wanting to be in a relationship so bad?

Leave a Reply

