Frankly Frank · Monthly Reviews

April 2016

We’re in May guys! Like wasn’t it just January a few days ago? It proves one thing – the year isn’t waiting for you so go out and get what you want to get really. Always better for you. That being said, Happy New Month! May this month bring you all the good heart desires you have. With every new month, I come to talk about the past month and just drop one or two things here about the month and so I proceed.

SURF.

 

TV Shows and Movies

TV Shows and Movies

 

As usual, TV shows are still key in my life right now and I spend about 30-40% of my time watching them. Currently, I’m following up on just Jane the Virgin, Grey’s Anatomy and Game of Thrones on a weekly basis. I think the writers on Jane the Virgin need to do much better really. The show is just blah and all over the place right now. I’m not particularly one of those people who like to leave shows halfway and that’s why I’m still following ardently. But they’ve lost me in real life. Grey’s Anatomy doesn’t really have any wow factor for me right now. It’s like it goes down with every weekly episode. Much work really, more plot twists. Game of Thrones still has about eight episodes to go so let’s see what they have. But Jon Snow is still alive and so all is well. I don’t like what’s happening to Arya but she’ll be fine.

I watched other shows this month like American Crime Story: The People vs OJ Simpson and I must commend the writers. That show was amazing and it kept me on the edge of my bed for as long as I watched. I insist OJ was indeed guilty but the odds were in his favour – almost every piece of evidence against him had some solid plot twist attached honestly. I’m still on Suits Season 5 and I cannot fully comprehend that Donna left Harvey really. Not to forget that I re-watched Devious Maids and I cannot wait for the new season later this year.

 

Music

TV Shows and Movies (1)

 

I’m here for Beyonce’s Lemonade album. It’s a beautiful album to say but the least – the songs and the visuals. Top five on the album are Hold Up, Daddy’s Lessons, Don’t Hurt Yourself, All Night and Freedom. I think it was a far better album than Beyonce and I had no doubts accepting it, unlike her self-titled album. I also paid for Apple Music so I’ve been in music heaven. It was a mistake but it was one I enjoyed making. I bumped TLOP, Views and Anti and favourites from these are Famous, One Dance and Love on The Brain in that order. Still listening to them. I have like 1001 new songs I enjoyed but I’ll stop here. On the local scene, I really like Mama by Kiss Daniel, Kolewerk by Koker and Oluwa Ni by Reekado Banks (first song of his I really like). Tiwa’s video to ‘If I Start To Talk’ is pure art. You should see it really.

 

Blogs, Tumblr, and Instagram

TV Shows and Movies (3)

My favorite blog may just be The Alaroro. I really like the cool images she makes on her blog and you should read it if you don’t. My tumblr is filled with black people and I really like it because they talk about the things that affect me most times. Instagram, nothing extra really

 

Places

TV Shows and Movies (2)

So I was in Lagos for a good part of April and I kept cancelling everything I was going to attend. However, I was at the Open House Lagos event for a day and I must say, Lagos is real pretty. One of our stops was Bogobiri and I got a shirt at the stall there. I was also at Asa’s concert and I was so mad my phone died. My iPhone 5c battery is bad and man is broke for now. But it was beautiful. One of my favorite people, Kaline was also there and it was worth it.

 

Not to forget that I went window shopping and came out of the shop with two bags filled up with clothes. So let me tell you quickly about it. I and a friend agreed to see Batman vs Superman (I think) at Ikeja City Mall for Easter. We got there and he was running late. Battery died (my phone keeps messing with me) and then I couldn’t find anywhere around to charge my phone. So I waited for a while, went downstairs to eat pizza and ended up window shopping. AND MY CARD WAS WITH ME! The rest is history. I’m trying to invest in things I can wear with other things though so it wasn’t a waste.

 

Books

TV Shows and Movies (4)

I read Trafficked by Akachi Adimora Ezeigbo and it was quite engaging. I didn’t like the way it ended, but well, there’s a reason for it. I also re-read We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. You should read it really! Currently,I’m reading Odufa by Othuke Ominiabohs. (I made notes for CNA’s book so hopefully, I’d share that soonest)

 

Until then,

Peace.

 

 

 

One thought on “April 2016

Leave a Reply

