Frankly Frank · Monthly Reviews

January 2016

Hello guys and happy new month to you all. Finally, January is over and it’s February. In as much as January was a long month, I see the year running quite fast. Make February work for you and I wish you all the best! February is my birth month so yeah, I’m slightly excited as compared to my “happy new month” face right now. My birthday falls two days before Valentine and if you love me enough to get me something, here’s my wishlist.

Anyway, as usual, I’m taking rounds for the month and sharing how my January went.

TV Shows and Movies

Since I got posted to where I currently work, I’ve been doing a lot of watching TV. I started with Jane the Virgin (which I really love) to season 2 of How To Get Away With Murder (which I thought had a lot of lows – kinda started getting boring but finale was lit), Vikings (really interesting TV show) and yes, Revenge (I concluded Revenge this month). Currently, I’m watching Grey’s Anatomy. I just started and it’s actually 12 seasons and I’m like “plis what are they acting up to 12 seasons?” I also added An African City and a few online TV shows to my list – Check them out here

 

For movies, I finally saw the Mad Max Fury Road movie and I just felt it was there. The story didn’t move me. But I must commend the pictures – it looked so fucking real and so good. And lowkey, I was happy to see Zoe Kravitz in it. I always see her on Vogue having photoshoots but I have never really noticed her on a movie. I saw Spectre too – same ‘just there’ feeling really. Watched a little bit of comedy – Alakada, a Nigerian movie and ‘Bride for Rent’. Hilarious! Not to forget that I watched 101 Dalmatians again and I was like “how did I believe this movie from way back?”. I mean, who adopts 101 puppies? How do you feed them? How do you breathe?

 

Blogs, Tumblr and Instagram

Fallen in love with Lakin Ogunbawo and his work and all the little bits he shares on his Tumblr here. I also recently followed Kitchen Butterfly on Instagram and her pictures make me really happy. There’s always a bit of colour splash and something that attracts you to her pictures. Then, there’s this new website I contribute to currently called OMGVoice. You should check out the articles here.

Music and Music Videos

Oh January was a good music month I think. There was Sia’s ‘This is Acting’ album and Rihanna’s ‘Anti’ Album. Right now, I’m just feeling one or two songs from the album and I’ll give it time to penetrate a little. I also loved the video to Coldplay’s ‘Hymn for the Weekend’ which features Beyonce. I liked ‘Romantic’ by Korede Bello and Tiwa Savage, ‘Play na Play’ by Omawumi and Angelique Kidjo, ‘Wonderful Wonder’ by Nathaniel Bassey and ‘Don’t Stop’ by Korede Bello.

Places and Events

I am in Ondo state right now and I’m looking to visit the tourist attractions here (if you’re planning to, get at me so we’ll go together) but for now, I’ve been majorly indoors really. No strength to go out, nobody I know around and nothing to do in Ondo.

 

Books

My reading habit is getting really bad and I’m trying to work on it. Trying to read along with @TheReadClub on twitter and I hope I’m able to read at least two of the four they read monthly.

 

Peace, love and everything!

Frank.

Leave a Reply

