Favorites · Music and TV

My Favorite OSTs

Hey guys, today, I’ll be writing about my favorite official soundtracks (OSTs) from movies. I’m such a music enthusiast, and I listen to practically anything that comes my way. I’m not so much of a movie buff, so there’s probability I haven’t come across that movie you like with great soundtracks. Anyway, in no particular order and based on what I can remember right now, here they are!

Rio 2 (What is Love by Janelle Monae)

Rio is such a happy movie, and almost all the songs from the movie are great. There are some tracks with Spanish tunes on the OST that just make you want to be on a beach relaxing with fresh air and having a chilled drink. The album features great artistes like X-Factor’s Rachel Crow, Jamie Foxx, Anne Hathaway and Janelle Monae, whose track ‘What is Love’ is undoubtedly my favorite.

The Lion King (We are One)

Apart from the fact that Angelique Kidjo was being truthful with all the words in this song (even the ones in her language), there’s this serenity that comes with listening to the song

Sound of Music (The Hills Are Alive)

When Julie Andrews sang it, the hills were surely alive and when Lady Gaga did a remake at the Grammys, the evergreen hills were still alive years after the original song was performed. Just like other movies, I can’t deny the fact that Sound of Music has a lot of great soundtracks like ‘Edelweiss, How Do You Solve a Problem like Maria and a host of others.

Fifty Shades of Grey (Love Me Like You Do)

I still don’t agree that the movie was entirely bullshit but well, you surely will agree with me that the soundtracks were great. With Ellie Goulding on ‘Love Me Like You Do’, The Weeknd on ‘Earned It’, Sia on ‘Salted Wound’ and Beyonce re-making ‘Crazy in Love’ and ‘Haunted’.

Phone Swap (Fate)

Yes, Phone Swap, the Nigerian Phone Swap movie. The soundtracks were done by a guy called ‘Truth’ (who is literally the truth). He came up with two songs ‘Life is Beautiful’ and ‘Fate’ and they’re both beautiful in every sense of it. I’d pay for his album any day, anytime if this is a consistent development.

Annie (You’re Never Fully Dressed without a Smile)

I need to watch the first version of Annie (I think I’ve seen it but now, I’m not even sure).  But if there’s anything the 2014 version came with, definitely better soundtracks. With Sia on ‘You’re Never Fully Dressed without a Smile’ to ‘Tomorrow’ to ‘It’s A Hard Knock Life’, you’re sure to enjoy yourself with the soundtracks alone, let to talk about how nice the movie itself is.

The Great Gatsby (Young and Beautiful)

All I think of when listening to this song is love, and how I’ll probably ask someone someday to love me when I’m young and beautiful. All jokes though, song is so beautiful. What did you expect from Lana Del Ray?

Gladiator (Now We Are Free)

Hans Zimmer is such a great guy and when you listen to this song, you’ll see it very clearly. There’s also the bit where it makes you contemplate and think. I think it’s quite a dramatic song.

Despicable Me 2 (Happy)

If I told you how many times this song by Pharrell Williams has changed my mood, you’ll probably think I was making it up. But really, this song is everything. When I walk home sometimes from work, I play it and actually dance to it. I know it’s late and all, but I still have to make my own ‘Happy’ video.

I know I’m missing out a lot of great movies with amazing soundtracks, so please remind me of some, and give me feedback on the ones I should probably listen to.

Love,

Frank

Leave a Reply

