Favorite Things · Frankly Frank

5 Favorite Things This Week

I remember telling myself I was going to try to write on a weekly basis but sometimes, you say A and B happens. So here’s what I came up with, since I go through a lot on weekly basis, why don’t I try to be positive and tell you about my best things this week (some weeks, it might be worst things) but all the same, I get to express myself freely without any form of struggle humor or literary criticism.

This week for me, was quite stressful. Started out with a few hangouts and ended up with work. (And I was moved to a new office by the way) Anyway, in no particular order, here are my favorite things this week:
1. Scandal

images

So this week, I got everything about Scandal in my palms. I hadn’t been following it up, but now I was ready to. Despite my busy schedule at the office, I was able to watch all episodes of Scandal and damn, I’m impressed. (I actually can’t wait for more, Shonda). First, I miss Harrison but anyway, I love that Aby and Quinn have more serious things doing. They used to be basically Olivia’s puppets all along. Then, I think I love Olitz rekindling (even though Olivia needs to stop that unnecessary serenre sometimes). I also love Cyrus and his new lover (they’re so cute!) And damn, Rowan Pope is the devil himself.

2. Tabula Rasa

index

I like to say without mincing words that Brymo’s album is the best album of 2014. Best because probably I wasn’t expecting such from him. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying he can’t deliver or something. This album is the perfect mix of everything for me and at least, I play once a day just because I can. My favorite song is track 4, ‘Dear Child’

3. The guys at Stand to End Rape (STER)

tWHm-mMz index

I totally enjoy my time hanging out (meeting) with the guys at STER. The last time, we went out to buy food and it was so funny because I actually just found out there was something sexual about ponmo. Like I was like, “Is your ponmo soft” and Ayodeji, Lade and Dasola pounced at me. I hope we get to hang out more! Oh, Olaomo and IJ are very cool people too (Before they slay me for not mentioning them)
In case you were wondering, Stand to End Rape Initiative is a non-profit organization which I volunteered for. As the name implies, we’re standing to end rape and we’re calling on everyone to join us in this cause.
4. These Words Expose Us: The Naked Convos Anthology

index

I’ll probably do a proper review later on before the TNC event which holds on 21st December (I think) but for now, this should work. The book is amazing! The speed at which I finished it was alarming to me also. I loved the cover art by Tokunbo and I must commend the editing by Wole Talabi. A lot of great writers penned down in the book, so you should probably get yours and read. I must also famz that I talk to a few of these writers, and I will get autographs. My favorite story is ‘The Thing with Mr Lawal’ by Pemi Aguda. There’s something about that story, that made me love her. I had to actually search and read through her stuffs on BellaNaija. She’s good people!

 

5. Leopard People

index

If you’ve read ‘Akata Witch’ by Nnedi Okoroafor, ‘Leopard People’ shouldn’t be a new word. But it means way more, because my book club goes by the same name. We had a meet up at Coldstone on Sunday and it was fun talking over beautiful cupcakes (which I managed to get home), ice-cream, drinks and glasses (yes, when I uploaded a picture on Instagram, someone said almost all of us had glasses.) We also had a book exchange and it was fun and we hope to do it again next month.

Peace, love and whatever you wish for!

One thought on “5 Favorite Things This Week

Leave a Reply

